Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Jones, two generations of Hudsons spotlight boys team

Sunday, April 7, 2024
Jones, two generations of Hudsons spotlight boys team

Choudrant senior Michael Jones put together one of the most impressive seasons of any Lincoln parish basketball player this season. Photo by Josh McDaniel

Choudrant senior Michael Jones leads the way on the 2024 All-Ruston Daily Leader Boys Basketball Team, with Jones taking the top spot as Player of the Year.

Jones averaged 26.5 points, 15.5 rebounds, and 2.3 assists as the unanimous District 2-B MVP for the Aggies, earning second team All-State honors from the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Joining Jones on the first team is Ruston junior Aidan Anding (14.8 points, 4.6 rebounds, 2.7 assists), Ruston freshman Ahmad Hudson (14 points, 11.7 rebounds, 2.8 blocks) — both LSWA first team All-State selections — Lincoln Prep senior Stephen Burks, the District 2- 1A MVP who led the Panthers in scoring (17 points per game) and was a first team All- State selection for Class 1A, and Simsboro senior Itavus Brown, who led the Tigers back to a deep playoff run and program respectability (26-12) at a team-best 14.6 points per game.

The second team selections are led by Cedar Creek senior Connor Johnson, a first team All-District 2-1A selection, who led Creek at 14.9 points and 6.2 rebounds. Johnson is joined by Simsboro sophomore Jakaleb Modest (14.5 ppg), Creek sophomore Jake Doan (19.3 ppg), Lincoln Prep sophomore Trey Spann (13 ppg), and Ruston junior Joran Parker (10.4 ppg).

Hudson has been named All-RDL Newcomer of the Year after his standout freshman season for the Bearcats as a first-team All-State selection — averaging 15 points, 15 rebounds, and 3 blocks in the postseason.

Antonio Hudson, head coach of the Lincoln Prep Panthers and Ahmad’s father, has been named All-RDL Coach of the Year after leading Lincoln Prep to the state tournament for a third year in a row, despite the team’s losing its top three scorers from 2023.