SUbscriber Login | NEW SUBSCRIPTION  

Celebrating 104 years of service

2 Life.jpg
Top Photo: Honorees pictured are Dr. Melinda Willis, Dr. Tonya H. Sheppard, Dr. Martina Tamakloe, Dr. Cynthia Jones, Sandra Carter and Dr. Ronda Pruitt. Not pictured are Dr. Brenda McIntyre, Mrs. Chelsea Mansfield, Dr. Cynthia Brown-Manning and Dr. Enaka M. Yembe. Bottom Photo: Golden members are (first row left to right) Melvaree Washington, Ruby W. Billups, Swedie Rutledge, Betty Hawthorne, Ruby Coleman and Willie Bell Jackson. Standing are (left to right) Marvis Anderson (Chairman of Founders’ Day), Jean Brown, Mildred Moss, Mildred Gallot, Barbara Terrell, and President Annie Hamlin. Not pictured are Hattie Perkins and Shirley Henderson.

Members of the Epsilon Psi Omega in Grambling, Alpha Theta at Grambling State University and Theta Lambda at Louisiana Tech University, chapters of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated came together for a Founders’ Day Commemoration of the organization at 3 p.m. March 4.

The group celebrated 104 years of service. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was organized in January 1908 and is the oldest Greek-letter organization established in America by Black college women.

Full text of this article is available to subscribers only. Login if you are already a subscriber. If you are not a subscriber, you can subscribe to the online version here.

Bookmark and Share