Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

School board voters support incumbents

Current members, Williams win election
Caleb Daniel
Tuesday, November 8, 2022
Article Image Alt Text

Lincoln Parish voters opted for stability in their school board choices tonight, overwhelmingly preferring all four incumbents who were seeking reelection with opposition.

The only new school board member elected tonight was District 1's Danielle Williams, who surged past opponent Willie Washington via the results of the last precinct to report. Incumbent Susan Wiley did not seek reelection.

Williams garnered 56% of the vote with 410 ballots to Washington's 325. Washington had appeared to hold a narrow lead with four of five precincts reported.

Earlier in the night, the first election to complete its results was District 7's Hunter Smith winning reelection over challenger Ginny Shadoin Canterbury by a healthy margin. Smith picked up 75% of the vote, or 1,054 ballots, to Canterbury's 353.

"I’m grateful to be able to continue giving back to a community and school system that’s given so much to me and so many others," Smith said Tuesday night after his results were reported.

District 3 incumbent Clark Canterbury won reelection to his first full term on a hefty margin as well, defeating two challengers. He received 1,200 votes, good for 76% of those cast. Gloria Miller garnered 304 votes while Paul Bean captured 71.

“I’m very humbled by the support I’ve been shown,” Canterbury said. “I look forward to serving my first full term, working with the other members and the superintendent on keeping this school system moving forward on the right path and maybe even better than what it is.”

Longtime District 10 board member Otha Anders secured reelection as well, gaining 481 votes, good for 69% of the total. Challenger Juan Hooper received 216 votes.

“I am so very thankful for all the people who supported me, who were with me, all the people who knew what I stood for on the board,” Anders said.

Lastly, District 12's Debbie Abrahm handily won reelection over challenger Doug Perry. Abrahm garnered 328 votes, good for 72%. Perry received 127 votes.

District voter turnouts ranged from District 7's 53.5% to District 10's 31.4%.

Check Thursday's edition of the Ruston Daily Leader for more coverage of this election.